~bandali/bndl.org
7 months agofa: typo fix main
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 05:19:57 +0000 (01:19 -0400)]
fa: typo fix

7 months agorearrange many of the pages/files for better organization
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 05:09:49 +0000 (01:09 -0400)]
rearrange many of the pages/files for better organization

7 months agosome small tweaks
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 16:51:54 +0000 (12:51 -0400)]
some small tweaks

7 months agofa: add missing abbrs for kernel in computing post in the feeds
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 00:33:52 +0000 (20:33 -0400)]
fa: add missing abbrs for kernel in computing post in the feeds

7 months agouse a centred body layout
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 00:29:41 +0000 (20:29 -0400)]
use a centred body layout

and other minor stylistic/aesthetic cleanups

7 months agoswitch from git-annex to simple manually-managed symlinks
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 22:42:54 +0000 (18:42 -0400)]
switch from git-annex to simple manually-managed symlinks

as awesome as git-annex is, i think it's a bit of an overkill for my
use-case here for my site.  here, simple symlinks to outside the repo
for those files will work just fine.  especially since i don't need to
version-control those files.  at least not for now.

7 months agoupdate/fix urls throughout
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 05:17:20 +0000 (01:17 -0400)]
update/fix urls throughout

7 months agoadd custom python3 'serve' script based on http.server
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 05:14:44 +0000 (01:14 -0400)]
add custom python3 'serve' script based on http.server

notably, has saner default mime type and encoding for txt files and
files without extension.  further, for a requested file X, if it does
not exist, it will try X.html and X.txt as well (similar to nginx's
try_files).

7 months agosmall link tweaks
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:33:05 +0000 (23:33 -0400)]
small link tweaks

7 months agoa few more link fixes
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:29:40 +0000 (23:29 -0400)]
a few more link fixes

7 months agocv: fix addresses
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:24:35 +0000 (23:24 -0400)]
cv: fix addresses

7 months agorestore se212-19, now as a folder with material through git-annex
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:40:57 +0000 (22:40 -0400)]
restore se212-19, now as a folder with material through git-annex

7 months agogit-annex in bandali@jirud:~/src/site
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:31:40 +0000 (22:31 -0400)]
git-annex in bandali@jirud:~/src/site

7 months agommath: add thesis pdf and source ball (through git-annex)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:28:06 +0000 (22:28 -0400)]
mmath: add thesis pdf and source ball (through git-annex)

7 months agomake mmath a directory
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:21:57 +0000 (22:21 -0400)]
make mmath a directory

7 months agoswitch back to hand-written html and feeds
Amin Bandali [Thu, 4 Nov 2021 23:00:17 +0000 (19:00 -0400)]
switch back to hand-written html and feeds

also planning to use extension-less urls along with apache httpd's
mod_negotiation module for 'Content Negotiation' to serve the right
variant (e.g. html vs txt) of the files, based on client's indicated
preferences using the Accept header, and perhaps User-Agent as well.

7 months agobandali(.fa).txt: link to atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 20:25:39 +0000 (16:25 -0400)]
bandali(.fa).txt: link to atom and rss feeds

8 months agotxt2pre: '<updated>' in '<entry>' is required in atom feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:51:16 +0000 (23:51 -0400)]
txt2pre: '<updated>' in '<entry>' is required in atom feeds

so use publication date for update date for atom feeds

8 months agotxt2pre: use '&#8212;' instead of '&mdash;' (to fix feed validation)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:32:38 +0000 (23:32 -0400)]
txt2pre: use '&#8212;' instead of '&mdash;' (to fix feed validation)

8 months agoGNUmakefile: fix generation of atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:26:45 +0000 (23:26 -0400)]
GNUmakefile: fix generation of atom and rss feeds

8 months agotxt2pre: eliminate 'Use of uninitialized value ...' warnings
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:22:31 +0000 (23:22 -0400)]
txt2pre: eliminate 'Use of uninitialized value ...' warnings

the 404 pages don't have $url

8 months agotxt2pre: implement generation of atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:15:08 +0000 (23:15 -0400)]
txt2pre: implement generation of atom and rss feeds

and remove the {,fa/}notes.{atom,rss} feed files from the repo

8 months agocontact: move link to pubkey a bit higher up
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:13:26 +0000 (23:13 -0400)]
contact: move link to pubkey a bit higher up

8 months agofa: fix computing link
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:36:40 +0000 (11:36 -0400)]
fa: fix computing link

8 months agocomputing: update the bit about site setup
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:34:20 +0000 (11:34 -0400)]
computing: update the bit about site setup

8 months agotxt2html: rename to txt2pre
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:12:14 +0000 (11:12 -0400)]
txt2html: rename to txt2pre

i plan on adding support for other output markups (e.g. atom and rss)

8 months agotxt2html: support extracting publish/update dates (now restored)
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:09:55 +0000 (11:09 -0400)]
txt2html: support extracting publish/update dates (now restored)

8 months agostop bugging the server for a favicon; i don't have one right now
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 12:32:39 +0000 (08:32 -0400)]
stop bugging the server for a favicon; i don't have one right now

8 months agorestore dark mode/theme
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 12:25:06 +0000 (08:25 -0400)]
restore dark mode/theme

8 months agocomputing: update the blurb about the site setup
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:42:15 +0000 (00:42 -0400)]
computing: update the blurb about the site setup

8 months agofa: update 404 page links
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:30:05 +0000 (00:30 -0400)]
fa: update 404 page links

8 months agofa: fix projects page link
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:28:14 +0000 (00:28 -0400)]
fa: fix projects page link

8 months agofa: update links to point to html versions
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:27:36 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
fa: update links to point to html versions

8 months agosmall tweaks and cleanups
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:25:22 +0000 (00:25 -0400)]
small tweaks and cleanups

8 months agoadd rel="alternate" links to articles and indices
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:17:54 +0000 (00:17 -0400)]
add rel="alternate" links to articles and indices

8 months agotxt2html: use Getopt::Long for saner command line arg handling
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 02:08:37 +0000 (22:08 -0400)]
txt2html: use Getopt::Long for saner command line arg handling

8 months agotransition to a simple txt-based setup, plus txt2html
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 01:45:06 +0000 (21:45 -0400)]
transition to a simple txt-based setup, plus txt2html

manually maintaining four different versions of my notes (plain text,
html, atom, and rss) turned out to be a bit much.  and i don't
particularly enjoy hand-writing the latter three anyway.

as such, i'm now moving to a barebones setup where everything is
written in plain text, and a simple script like txt2html (shout out to
public-inbox and Eric!) is used to add convert to html with minimal
changes, such as linkifying URLs -- aside: it beats me why so called
"modern browsers" don't already do this out of the box for txt files.

8 months agocolophon: tweak to mention plain text version as well
Amin Bandali [Mon, 4 Oct 2021 04:47:21 +0000 (00:47 -0400)]
colophon: tweak to mention plain text version as well

8 months agocv: tweak a job title
Amin Bandali [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 00:47:57 +0000 (20:47 -0400)]
cv: tweak a job title

9 months agocv: swap order of emails
Amin Bandali [Wed, 1 Sep 2021 03:20:40 +0000 (23:20 -0400)]
cv: swap order of emails

9 months agocv: bump last update
Amin Bandali [Wed, 1 Sep 2021 03:19:14 +0000 (23:19 -0400)]
cv: bump last update

9 months agoadd ielts score to cv and fix small typo
Amin Bandali [Tue, 31 Aug 2021 05:17:37 +0000 (01:17 -0400)]
add ielts score to cv and fix small typo

9 months agosmallish spelling fixes
Amin Bandali [Tue, 31 Aug 2021 05:15:59 +0000 (01:15 -0400)]
smallish spelling fixes

10 months agofix a few bib links
Amin Bandali [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 02:58:29 +0000 (22:58 -0400)]
fix a few bib links

10 months agotweak order of more <link>s in atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 02:35:48 +0000 (22:35 -0400)]
tweak order of more <link>s in atom and rss feeds

see last commit.  this commit dose the same, but for the rest of the
<link> tags, putting the main ones later to help increase the
likelihood of the right ones being picked.

10 months agotweak order of <link>s in atom feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 18:25:08 +0000 (14:25 -0400)]
tweak order of <link>s in atom feeds

some implementations/parsers like planet venus don't seem to know
about hreflang, so let's try switching the order of links and see if
it helps them pick up the right one for the site address.

10 months agoadd atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 04:49:12 +0000 (00:49 -0400)]
add atom and rss feeds

10 months agofix bold typeface names for sahel
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 01:18:01 +0000 (21:18 -0400)]
fix bold typeface names for sahel

10 months agouse the beautiful Sahel font for persian text
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 01:04:14 +0000 (21:04 -0400)]
use the beautiful Sahel font for persian text

specifically, the WOL (without latin) variant that doesn't have glyphs
for latin characters (i prefer GNU FreeFont's FreeSans instead)

https://rastikerdar.github.io/sahel-font/

10 months agorevamp the site and go fully static
Amin Bandali [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 18:08:52 +0000 (14:08 -0400)]
revamp the site and go fully static

13 months agodon't regenerate the feeds when non-note m4 files change
Amin Bandali [Sun, 16 May 2021 20:23:53 +0000 (16:23 -0400)]
don't regenerate the feeds when non-note m4 files change

14 months agofix email on cv
Amin Bandali [Mon, 5 Apr 2021 19:14:03 +0000 (15:14 -0400)]
fix email on cv

14 months agofix two links
Amin Bandali [Wed, 31 Mar 2021 03:29:20 +0000 (23:29 -0400)]
fix two links

15 months agoadd note about my Jami talk at LibrePlanet 2021
Amin Bandali [Mon, 22 Mar 2021 03:38:48 +0000 (23:38 -0400)]
add note about my Jami talk at LibrePlanet 2021

15 months agorevamp the website
Amin Bandali [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 02:53:29 +0000 (21:53 -0500)]
revamp the website

it is now served from shemshak.org/~bandali

18 months agoadd <subtitle> to atom feed
Amin Bandali [Sat, 19 Dec 2020 02:38:17 +0000 (21:38 -0500)]
add <subtitle> to atom feed

18 months agoadd concluding blog post for my fsf internship :-)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 18 Dec 2020 21:30:33 +0000 (16:30 -0500)]
add concluding blog post for my fsf internship :-)

18 months agowhoops, forgot a dnl
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 06:17:10 +0000 (01:17 -0500)]
whoops, forgot a dnl

18 months agovarious enhancements, including valid atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 06:13:21 +0000 (01:13 -0500)]
various enhancements, including valid atom and rss feeds

18 months agovarious small changes
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 03:54:35 +0000 (22:54 -0500)]
various small changes

19 months agowhoops, forgot the paragraph tag
Amin Bandali [Sat, 14 Nov 2020 03:41:01 +0000 (22:41 -0500)]
whoops, forgot the paragraph tag

19 months agoadd disclaimer
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 03:02:25 +0000 (22:02 -0500)]
add disclaimer

19 months agoupdate repo name
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 01:22:52 +0000 (20:22 -0500)]
update repo name

19 months agomention my employment at SFL
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 01:20:34 +0000 (20:20 -0500)]
mention my employment at SFL

21 months agofix publications anchor positioning
Amin Bandali [Sun, 30 Aug 2020 06:03:39 +0000 (02:03 -0400)]
fix publications anchor positioning

22 months agos/Dr./Prof./
Amin Bandali [Fri, 31 Jul 2020 01:28:07 +0000 (21:28 -0400)]
s/Dr./Prof./

23 months agominor fixes
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 04:00:31 +0000 (00:00 -0400)]
minor fixes

23 months agovarious updates
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 22:54:51 +0000 (18:54 -0400)]
various updates

23 months agorename meta_notes.m4 to meta_defs.m4
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 05:59:01 +0000 (01:59 -0400)]
rename meta_notes.m4 to meta_defs.m4

to serve as a general-purpose all-in-one location for `define's

23 months agommath: better styling for abstract and license
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 05:56:39 +0000 (01:56 -0400)]
mmath: better styling for abstract and license

23 months agouse bandali-bib#bandali2020 instead of a bib file
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 04:27:59 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
use bandali-bib#bandali2020 instead of a bib file

23 months agoadd mmath thesis sources
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 04:02:20 +0000 (00:02 -0400)]
add mmath thesis sources

23 months agovarious updates
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 02:52:09 +0000 (22:52 -0400)]
various updates

23 months agoavoid circular dependency
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:56:12 +0000 (10:56 -0400)]
avoid circular dependency

23 months agomake publications and bandali-bib actual pages
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:47:24 +0000 (10:47 -0400)]
make publications and bandali-bib actual pages

this seems better than the initial pass

23 months agoadd standalone publications page
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:02:15 +0000 (10:02 -0400)]
add standalone publications page

uses bibtex2html to generate the bibliography from my bandali.bib

23 months agoadd mmath page (wip)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 10 Jul 2020 04:22:01 +0000 (00:22 -0400)]
add mmath page (wip)

23 months agobandali.eu.org -> bndl.org
Amin Bandali [Fri, 10 Jul 2020 04:21:50 +0000 (00:21 -0400)]
bandali.eu.org -> bndl.org

2 years agoa few tweaks
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Jun 2020 04:05:10 +0000 (00:05 -0400)]
a few tweaks

2 years agosmall typo fixes
Amin Bandali [Sat, 30 May 2020 03:58:59 +0000 (23:58 -0400)]
small typo fixes

2 years agoadd introductory blog post for my fsf internship :-)
Amin Bandali [Sat, 30 May 2020 03:50:19 +0000 (23:50 -0400)]
add introductory blog post for my fsf internship :-)

2 years agoupdate htaccess files and makefile according to new setup
Amin Bandali [Thu, 14 May 2020 08:41:45 +0000 (04:41 -0400)]
update htaccess files and makefile according to new setup

2 years agoupdate links to git repos
Amin Bandali [Thu, 14 May 2020 07:47:07 +0000 (03:47 -0400)]
update links to git repos

2 years agomove bandali.eu.org-specific bits of .htaccess to caffeine
Amin Bandali [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 21:50:41 +0000 (17:50 -0400)]
move bandali.eu.org-specific bits of .htaccess to caffeine

here we just take care of redirecting csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~abandali/
to bandali.eu.org

2 years agoadd refinery-theme to #projects
Amin Bandali [Sat, 25 Apr 2020 17:34:56 +0000 (13:34 -0400)]
add refinery-theme to #projects

also, s/git.bandali.eu.org/git.bndl.org/ for now

2 years agoadd .htaccess
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 04:26:28 +0000 (00:26 -0400)]
add .htaccess

2 years agorename feed_* to meta_feed_* and simplify wildcard function call
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 01:48:04 +0000 (21:48 -0400)]
rename feed_* to meta_feed_* and simplify wildcard function call

2 years agofix remaining issues with non-numeric slugs
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 01:42:38 +0000 (21:42 -0400)]
fix remaining issues with non-numeric slugs

2 years agoupdate url for some assets
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 06:42:27 +0000 (02:42 -0400)]
update url for some assets

i will be serving these from p.bndl.org for the time being

2 years agoadd rss feed
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 05:48:07 +0000 (01:48 -0400)]
add rss feed

2 years agoupdate se212-f19 page and files
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:50:48 +0000 (00:50 -0400)]
update se212-f19 page and files

2 years agoport from an SSI-based setup to one using GNU M4
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:07:56 +0000 (00:07 -0400)]
port from an SSI-based setup to one using GNU M4

2 years agomoving to caffeine
Amin Bandali [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 07:12:15 +0000 (03:12 -0400)]
moving to caffeine

2 years agosmall updates
Amin Bandali [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 07:06:32 +0000 (03:06 -0400)]
small updates

2 years agoLICENSE was supposed to be a symlink not a duplicate copy
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:12:05 +0000 (02:12 -0400)]
LICENSE was supposed to be a symlink not a duplicate copy

2 years agoremove some vestigial files
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:10:45 +0000 (02:10 -0400)]
remove some vestigial files

2 years agoadd missing license files (GPLv3+)
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:07:21 +0000 (02:07 -0400)]
add missing license files (GPLv3+)

2 years agosimplify title logic
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 05:35:21 +0000 (01:35 -0400)]
simplify title logic

simply set "nts" (short for No Title Suffix) when needed

2 years agouse ssi for more pages
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 05:20:07 +0000 (01:20 -0400)]
use ssi for more pages

2 years agossi on;
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 04:58:15 +0000 (00:58 -0400)]
ssi on;