~bandali/bndl.org
12 months agofa: typo fix main
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 05:19:57 +0000 (01:19 -0400)]
fa: typo fix

12 months agorearrange many of the pages/files for better organization
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 05:09:49 +0000 (01:09 -0400)]
rearrange many of the pages/files for better organization

12 months agosome small tweaks
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 16:51:54 +0000 (12:51 -0400)]
some small tweaks

12 months agofa: add missing abbrs for kernel in computing post in the feeds
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 00:33:52 +0000 (20:33 -0400)]
fa: add missing abbrs for kernel in computing post in the feeds

12 months agouse a centred body layout
Amin Bandali [Sat, 6 Nov 2021 00:29:41 +0000 (20:29 -0400)]
use a centred body layout

and other minor stylistic/aesthetic cleanups

12 months agoswitch from git-annex to simple manually-managed symlinks
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 22:42:54 +0000 (18:42 -0400)]
switch from git-annex to simple manually-managed symlinks

as awesome as git-annex is, i think it's a bit of an overkill for my
use-case here for my site.  here, simple symlinks to outside the repo
for those files will work just fine.  especially since i don't need to
version-control those files.  at least not for now.

12 months agoupdate/fix urls throughout
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 05:17:20 +0000 (01:17 -0400)]
update/fix urls throughout

12 months agoadd custom python3 'serve' script based on http.server
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 05:14:44 +0000 (01:14 -0400)]
add custom python3 'serve' script based on http.server

notably, has saner default mime type and encoding for txt files and
files without extension.  further, for a requested file X, if it does
not exist, it will try X.html and X.txt as well (similar to nginx's
try_files).

12 months agosmall link tweaks
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:33:05 +0000 (23:33 -0400)]
small link tweaks

12 months agoa few more link fixes
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:29:40 +0000 (23:29 -0400)]
a few more link fixes

12 months agocv: fix addresses
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 03:24:35 +0000 (23:24 -0400)]
cv: fix addresses

12 months agorestore se212-19, now as a folder with material through git-annex
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:40:57 +0000 (22:40 -0400)]
restore se212-19, now as a folder with material through git-annex

12 months agogit-annex in bandali@jirud:~/src/site
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:31:40 +0000 (22:31 -0400)]
git-annex in bandali@jirud:~/src/site

12 months agommath: add thesis pdf and source ball (through git-annex)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:28:06 +0000 (22:28 -0400)]
mmath: add thesis pdf and source ball (through git-annex)

12 months agomake mmath a directory
Amin Bandali [Fri, 5 Nov 2021 02:21:57 +0000 (22:21 -0400)]
make mmath a directory

12 months agoswitch back to hand-written html and feeds
Amin Bandali [Thu, 4 Nov 2021 23:00:17 +0000 (19:00 -0400)]
switch back to hand-written html and feeds

also planning to use extension-less urls along with apache httpd's
mod_negotiation module for 'Content Negotiation' to serve the right
variant (e.g. html vs txt) of the files, based on client's indicated
preferences using the Accept header, and perhaps User-Agent as well.

13 months agobandali(.fa).txt: link to atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 25 Oct 2021 20:25:39 +0000 (16:25 -0400)]
bandali(.fa).txt: link to atom and rss feeds

13 months agotxt2pre: '<updated>' in '<entry>' is required in atom feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:51:16 +0000 (23:51 -0400)]
txt2pre: '<updated>' in '<entry>' is required in atom feeds

so use publication date for update date for atom feeds

13 months agotxt2pre: use '&#8212;' instead of '&mdash;' (to fix feed validation)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:32:38 +0000 (23:32 -0400)]
txt2pre: use '&#8212;' instead of '&mdash;' (to fix feed validation)

13 months agoGNUmakefile: fix generation of atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:26:45 +0000 (23:26 -0400)]
GNUmakefile: fix generation of atom and rss feeds

13 months agotxt2pre: eliminate 'Use of uninitialized value ...' warnings
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:22:31 +0000 (23:22 -0400)]
txt2pre: eliminate 'Use of uninitialized value ...' warnings

the 404 pages don't have $url

13 months agotxt2pre: implement generation of atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:15:08 +0000 (23:15 -0400)]
txt2pre: implement generation of atom and rss feeds

and remove the {,fa/}notes.{atom,rss} feed files from the repo

13 months agocontact: move link to pubkey a bit higher up
Amin Bandali [Fri, 22 Oct 2021 03:13:26 +0000 (23:13 -0400)]
contact: move link to pubkey a bit higher up

13 months agofa: fix computing link
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:36:40 +0000 (11:36 -0400)]
fa: fix computing link

13 months agocomputing: update the bit about site setup
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:34:20 +0000 (11:34 -0400)]
computing: update the bit about site setup

13 months agotxt2html: rename to txt2pre
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:12:14 +0000 (11:12 -0400)]
txt2html: rename to txt2pre

i plan on adding support for other output markups (e.g. atom and rss)

13 months agotxt2html: support extracting publish/update dates (now restored)
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 15:09:55 +0000 (11:09 -0400)]
txt2html: support extracting publish/update dates (now restored)

13 months agostop bugging the server for a favicon; i don't have one right now
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 12:32:39 +0000 (08:32 -0400)]
stop bugging the server for a favicon; i don't have one right now

13 months agorestore dark mode/theme
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 12:25:06 +0000 (08:25 -0400)]
restore dark mode/theme

13 months agocomputing: update the blurb about the site setup
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:42:15 +0000 (00:42 -0400)]
computing: update the blurb about the site setup

13 months agofa: update 404 page links
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:30:05 +0000 (00:30 -0400)]
fa: update 404 page links

13 months agofa: fix projects page link
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:28:14 +0000 (00:28 -0400)]
fa: fix projects page link

13 months agofa: update links to point to html versions
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:27:36 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
fa: update links to point to html versions

13 months agosmall tweaks and cleanups
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:25:22 +0000 (00:25 -0400)]
small tweaks and cleanups

13 months agoadd rel="alternate" links to articles and indices
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 04:17:54 +0000 (00:17 -0400)]
add rel="alternate" links to articles and indices

13 months agotxt2html: use Getopt::Long for saner command line arg handling
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 02:08:37 +0000 (22:08 -0400)]
txt2html: use Getopt::Long for saner command line arg handling

13 months agotransition to a simple txt-based setup, plus txt2html
Amin Bandali [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 01:45:06 +0000 (21:45 -0400)]
transition to a simple txt-based setup, plus txt2html

manually maintaining four different versions of my notes (plain text,
html, atom, and rss) turned out to be a bit much.  and i don't
particularly enjoy hand-writing the latter three anyway.

as such, i'm now moving to a barebones setup where everything is
written in plain text, and a simple script like txt2html (shout out to
public-inbox and Eric!) is used to add convert to html with minimal
changes, such as linkifying URLs -- aside: it beats me why so called
"modern browsers" don't already do this out of the box for txt files.

13 months agocolophon: tweak to mention plain text version as well
Amin Bandali [Mon, 4 Oct 2021 04:47:21 +0000 (00:47 -0400)]
colophon: tweak to mention plain text version as well

14 months agocv: tweak a job title
Amin Bandali [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 00:47:57 +0000 (20:47 -0400)]
cv: tweak a job title

15 months agocv: swap order of emails
Amin Bandali [Wed, 1 Sep 2021 03:20:40 +0000 (23:20 -0400)]
cv: swap order of emails

15 months agocv: bump last update
Amin Bandali [Wed, 1 Sep 2021 03:19:14 +0000 (23:19 -0400)]
cv: bump last update

15 months agoadd ielts score to cv and fix small typo
Amin Bandali [Tue, 31 Aug 2021 05:17:37 +0000 (01:17 -0400)]
add ielts score to cv and fix small typo

15 months agosmallish spelling fixes
Amin Bandali [Tue, 31 Aug 2021 05:15:59 +0000 (01:15 -0400)]
smallish spelling fixes

16 months agofix a few bib links
Amin Bandali [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 02:58:29 +0000 (22:58 -0400)]
fix a few bib links

16 months agotweak order of more <link>s in atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 02:35:48 +0000 (22:35 -0400)]
tweak order of more <link>s in atom and rss feeds

see last commit.  this commit dose the same, but for the rest of the
<link> tags, putting the main ones later to help increase the
likelihood of the right ones being picked.

16 months agotweak order of <link>s in atom feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 18:25:08 +0000 (14:25 -0400)]
tweak order of <link>s in atom feeds

some implementations/parsers like planet venus don't seem to know
about hreflang, so let's try switching the order of links and see if
it helps them pick up the right one for the site address.

16 months agoadd atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 04:49:12 +0000 (00:49 -0400)]
add atom and rss feeds

16 months agofix bold typeface names for sahel
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 01:18:01 +0000 (21:18 -0400)]
fix bold typeface names for sahel

16 months agouse the beautiful Sahel font for persian text
Amin Bandali [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 01:04:14 +0000 (21:04 -0400)]
use the beautiful Sahel font for persian text

specifically, the WOL (without latin) variant that doesn't have glyphs
for latin characters (i prefer GNU FreeFont's FreeSans instead)

https://rastikerdar.github.io/sahel-font/

16 months agorevamp the site and go fully static
Amin Bandali [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 18:08:52 +0000 (14:08 -0400)]
revamp the site and go fully static

18 months agodon't regenerate the feeds when non-note m4 files change
Amin Bandali [Sun, 16 May 2021 20:23:53 +0000 (16:23 -0400)]
don't regenerate the feeds when non-note m4 files change

19 months agofix email on cv
Amin Bandali [Mon, 5 Apr 2021 19:14:03 +0000 (15:14 -0400)]
fix email on cv

20 months agofix two links
Amin Bandali [Wed, 31 Mar 2021 03:29:20 +0000 (23:29 -0400)]
fix two links

20 months agoadd note about my Jami talk at LibrePlanet 2021
Amin Bandali [Mon, 22 Mar 2021 03:38:48 +0000 (23:38 -0400)]
add note about my Jami talk at LibrePlanet 2021

20 months agorevamp the website
Amin Bandali [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 02:53:29 +0000 (21:53 -0500)]
revamp the website

it is now served from shemshak.org/~bandali

23 months agoadd <subtitle> to atom feed
Amin Bandali [Sat, 19 Dec 2020 02:38:17 +0000 (21:38 -0500)]
add <subtitle> to atom feed

23 months agoadd concluding blog post for my fsf internship :-)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 18 Dec 2020 21:30:33 +0000 (16:30 -0500)]
add concluding blog post for my fsf internship :-)

23 months agowhoops, forgot a dnl
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 06:17:10 +0000 (01:17 -0500)]
whoops, forgot a dnl

23 months agovarious enhancements, including valid atom and rss feeds
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 06:13:21 +0000 (01:13 -0500)]
various enhancements, including valid atom and rss feeds

23 months agovarious small changes
Amin Bandali [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 03:54:35 +0000 (22:54 -0500)]
various small changes

2 years agowhoops, forgot the paragraph tag
Amin Bandali [Sat, 14 Nov 2020 03:41:01 +0000 (22:41 -0500)]
whoops, forgot the paragraph tag

2 years agoadd disclaimer
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 03:02:25 +0000 (22:02 -0500)]
add disclaimer

2 years agoupdate repo name
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 01:22:52 +0000 (20:22 -0500)]
update repo name

2 years agomention my employment at SFL
Amin Bandali [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 01:20:34 +0000 (20:20 -0500)]
mention my employment at SFL

2 years agofix publications anchor positioning
Amin Bandali [Sun, 30 Aug 2020 06:03:39 +0000 (02:03 -0400)]
fix publications anchor positioning

2 years agos/Dr./Prof./
Amin Bandali [Fri, 31 Jul 2020 01:28:07 +0000 (21:28 -0400)]
s/Dr./Prof./

2 years agominor fixes
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 04:00:31 +0000 (00:00 -0400)]
minor fixes

2 years agovarious updates
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 22:54:51 +0000 (18:54 -0400)]
various updates

2 years agorename meta_notes.m4 to meta_defs.m4
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 05:59:01 +0000 (01:59 -0400)]
rename meta_notes.m4 to meta_defs.m4

to serve as a general-purpose all-in-one location for `define's

2 years agommath: better styling for abstract and license
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 05:56:39 +0000 (01:56 -0400)]
mmath: better styling for abstract and license

2 years agouse bandali-bib#bandali2020 instead of a bib file
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 04:27:59 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
use bandali-bib#bandali2020 instead of a bib file

2 years agoadd mmath thesis sources
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 04:02:20 +0000 (00:02 -0400)]
add mmath thesis sources

2 years agovarious updates
Amin Bandali [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 02:52:09 +0000 (22:52 -0400)]
various updates

2 years agoavoid circular dependency
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:56:12 +0000 (10:56 -0400)]
avoid circular dependency

2 years agomake publications and bandali-bib actual pages
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:47:24 +0000 (10:47 -0400)]
make publications and bandali-bib actual pages

this seems better than the initial pass

2 years agoadd standalone publications page
Amin Bandali [Thu, 16 Jul 2020 14:02:15 +0000 (10:02 -0400)]
add standalone publications page

uses bibtex2html to generate the bibliography from my bandali.bib

2 years agoadd mmath page (wip)
Amin Bandali [Fri, 10 Jul 2020 04:22:01 +0000 (00:22 -0400)]
add mmath page (wip)

2 years agobandali.eu.org -> bndl.org
Amin Bandali [Fri, 10 Jul 2020 04:21:50 +0000 (00:21 -0400)]
bandali.eu.org -> bndl.org

2 years agoa few tweaks
Amin Bandali [Sun, 7 Jun 2020 04:05:10 +0000 (00:05 -0400)]
a few tweaks

2 years agosmall typo fixes
Amin Bandali [Sat, 30 May 2020 03:58:59 +0000 (23:58 -0400)]
small typo fixes

2 years agoadd introductory blog post for my fsf internship :-)
Amin Bandali [Sat, 30 May 2020 03:50:19 +0000 (23:50 -0400)]
add introductory blog post for my fsf internship :-)

2 years agoupdate htaccess files and makefile according to new setup
Amin Bandali [Thu, 14 May 2020 08:41:45 +0000 (04:41 -0400)]
update htaccess files and makefile according to new setup

2 years agoupdate links to git repos
Amin Bandali [Thu, 14 May 2020 07:47:07 +0000 (03:47 -0400)]
update links to git repos

2 years agomove bandali.eu.org-specific bits of .htaccess to caffeine
Amin Bandali [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 21:50:41 +0000 (17:50 -0400)]
move bandali.eu.org-specific bits of .htaccess to caffeine

here we just take care of redirecting csclub.uwaterloo.ca/~abandali/
to bandali.eu.org

2 years agoadd refinery-theme to #projects
Amin Bandali [Sat, 25 Apr 2020 17:34:56 +0000 (13:34 -0400)]
add refinery-theme to #projects

also, s/git.bandali.eu.org/git.bndl.org/ for now

2 years agoadd .htaccess
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 04:26:28 +0000 (00:26 -0400)]
add .htaccess

2 years agorename feed_* to meta_feed_* and simplify wildcard function call
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 01:48:04 +0000 (21:48 -0400)]
rename feed_* to meta_feed_* and simplify wildcard function call

2 years agofix remaining issues with non-numeric slugs
Amin Bandali [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 01:42:38 +0000 (21:42 -0400)]
fix remaining issues with non-numeric slugs

2 years agoupdate url for some assets
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 06:42:27 +0000 (02:42 -0400)]
update url for some assets

i will be serving these from p.bndl.org for the time being

2 years agoadd rss feed
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 05:48:07 +0000 (01:48 -0400)]
add rss feed

2 years agoupdate se212-f19 page and files
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:50:48 +0000 (00:50 -0400)]
update se212-f19 page and files

2 years agoport from an SSI-based setup to one using GNU M4
Amin Bandali [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:07:56 +0000 (00:07 -0400)]
port from an SSI-based setup to one using GNU M4

2 years agomoving to caffeine
Amin Bandali [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 07:12:15 +0000 (03:12 -0400)]
moving to caffeine

2 years agosmall updates
Amin Bandali [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 07:06:32 +0000 (03:06 -0400)]
small updates

2 years agoLICENSE was supposed to be a symlink not a duplicate copy
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:12:05 +0000 (02:12 -0400)]
LICENSE was supposed to be a symlink not a duplicate copy

2 years agoremove some vestigial files
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:10:45 +0000 (02:10 -0400)]
remove some vestigial files

2 years agoadd missing license files (GPLv3+)
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 06:07:21 +0000 (02:07 -0400)]
add missing license files (GPLv3+)

2 years agosimplify title logic
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 05:35:21 +0000 (01:35 -0400)]
simplify title logic

simply set "nts" (short for No Title Suffix) when needed

2 years agouse ssi for more pages
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 05:20:07 +0000 (01:20 -0400)]
use ssi for more pages

2 years agossi on;
Amin Bandali [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 04:58:15 +0000 (00:58 -0400)]
ssi on;